Leadership and Involvement

GMSR’s appellate lawyers are involved in numerous professional and community organizations.  Not content with passive membership, they regularly demonstrate the depth of their commitment by making the multi-year investment of time it typically requires to assume leadership positions such as committee chairs and organization presidents.

Court Administration

California Judicial Council
  • Appellate Advisory Committee: Kent Richland
  • Appellate Indigent Defense Oversight Advisory Committee: Kent Richland
  • Appellate Advisory Committee, Appellate Electronic Filing Workgroup: Robin Meadow
  • Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee: Robert Olson
Second Appellate District Mediation Program
  • Steering Committee, Mediation Training: Robin Meadow
  • Mediators: Robin Meadow, Marc Poster, Kent Richland
Second Appellate District Pro Bono Program
  • Steering Committee: Robin Meadow
Fourth Appellate District Volunteer Settlement Program
  • Settlement Officer: Tim Coates
California Supreme Court Historical Society Board of Trustees
  • Kent Richland (Past President)


Appellate Practice

American Academy of Appellate Lawyer
  • Kent Richland
  • Marc Poster
  • Robert Olson
  • Robin Meadow
California Academy of Appellate Lawyers
  • Alana Rotter
  • Kent Richland (Past President)
  • Laurie Hepler (Amicus Committee)
  • Marc Poster (Past President)
  • Robert Olson (Past President)
  • Robin Meadow (Past President)
  • Ted Xanders


Bar Associations

American Bar Association
  • Feris Greenberger (Appellate Advocacy Committee of the Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section)
  • Marc Poster (Vice-Chair, Appellate Advocacy Committee of the Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section)
  • Robin Meadow (Litigation Section; Appellate Advocacy Committee of the Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section)
Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Feris Greenberger (Appellate Courts Section)
  • Kent Richland (Trustee; Chair, Appellate Courts, State Appellate Judicial Evaluation, Judicial Appointments and California Judicial Systems Committees)
  • Marc Poster (Chair, Appellate Courts Section, State Appellate Judicial Evaluation Committee)
  • Nancy Olson (State Appellate Judicial Evaluation Committee)
  • Robin Meadow (Past President; Chair, Appellate Courts, Audit & Finance, Judicial Elections Evaluation, Arbitration and Juvenile Justice Committees)
  • Tim Coates (Appellate Courts Section)
Beverly Hills Bar Association
  • Alana Rotter  (Past Amicus Briefs Committee)
  • Cindy Tobisman (Board of Governors;  Amicus Briefs Committee)
  • Feris Greenberger (Board of Directors, Beverly Hills Bar Foundation)
  • Marc Poster (Past President; Board of Governors; Chair, Amicus Briefs Committee)
Federal Bar Association
  • Timothy Coates (Appellate Practice Section)


Practice-Oriented Organizations

Association of Business Trial Lawyers (ABTL)
  • Robin Meadow (Board Member and Co-Editor of the ABTL Report)
Association of Southern California Defense Counsel (ASCDC)
  • Robert Olson (Past President)
  • Ted Xanders (Co-Chair, Amicus Committee)
California Defense Counsel
  • Robert Olson (Past President)
Defense Research Institute (DRI)
  • Tim Coates (Government Liability Section, member of Steering Committee and Seminar Planning Committee)
International Municipal Lawyers Association (IMLA)
  • Tim Coates (Co-Chair of Litigation, Insurance & Risk Management Section)


Public Interest Groups

American Civil Liberties Union/ACLU Foundation of Southern California
  • Robin Meadow (Board of Directors)
Public Counsel
  • Robin Meadow (Past President)



UCLA School of Law
  • Feris Greenberger (Dean’s Circle; Small and Midsize Law Firm Reception, various law school alumni and clinical programs)
Southwestern University School of Law
  • Kent Richland (Adjunct Professor, Appellate Advocacy)
Hastings School of Law
  • Kent Richland (Board of Advisors of the Hastings Constitutional Law Quarterly)