California Supreme Court Watch

Feb 09, 2022
Jane S.D. Doe v. Superior Court, S272166.

#22-28 Jane S.D. Doe v. Superior Court, S272166. (B313874; 71 Cal.App.5th 227; Los Angeles County Superior Court; BC712514.) Petition for review after the Court of Appeal denied a petition for peremptory writ of mandate. This case presents the following issues: (1) Is evidence that a plaintiff in a civil action suffered a prior sexual assault admissible for impeachment purposes (Evid. Code, § 783) or inadmissible as a claim that the plaintiff did not suffer injury (Evid. Code, § 1106, subd. (a))? (2) If admissible, what procedures and quantum of proof are required to admit such evidence?

Review granted: 2/9/2022

Case fully briefed: 8/15/2022

See the Court of Appeal Opinion.